Welcome!

Hello, and welcome to my running blog!

My name is Michelle.    I’m 34, a wife, a mom to two young kids, a teacher.  And a runner. I’m not a fast runner (yet), but I’m out there running.

image

(me, 35 lbs ago)

I was a runner in high school, then life got in the way.  After my oldest was born in January 2011, I decided to start running again to lose the baby weight.  I got about halfway through Couch to 5K before summer arrived and I decided it was “too hot” to run.  (Hey, I live in Texas, it was a reasonable excuse)

That fall, though, a friend & I registered to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon.  I trained half-heartedly through the fall, and on January 1, 2012, really committed myself to the training with 9 weeks until the race. I was doing really well with my training, and then in early February, just 3 weeks before the race, I found out I was pregnant again.

I ran the half marathon anyway, with my doctor’s blessing, and finished in 3:03.03.

image

(crossing the finish line)

image

(I really did it!)

I vowed to do better in the next one, and also to keep running throughout my pregnancy.  But then summer arrived again, and it was “too hot” again.

My daughter was born in October 2012, and I started running again in December with my running group, Moms RUN this Town, and completed my first “official” 5K race in January 2013.

I’ve run on and off since then, completing my 2nd half marathon in May 2013.  I shaved almost 30 minutes off my time, and finished in 2:36.35.

image

(Sorry for the selfie… I finished another one!)

I’m not using the heat as an excuse anymore.  That’s all it was – an excuse.  No more excuses.  I’m a runner.  I’m running to get healthy, to stay healthy, and to set an example for my kids.

I’m currently training for a 15K on Sunday, a 10K at the end of July, and a 10-miler at Disney in early October.  I’ll probably add a 10K in August, and half marathon #3 in late October or early November.

I’ll post race reviews, gear reviews, training updates, nutritional information, and other running-related ramblings.  I hope you’ll join me for my adventures.

~M

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Welcome!

  1. Yay! Welcome to blogging! Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

