Running Mad! (and Life Gets in the Way, Again)

On Saturday, July 27, our local MRTT chapter hosted the summer virtual run called Running Mad!   Our wonderful chapter leaders set it up so that we’d have chip timing, designed the courses (we had options for 5K, 10K, or half marathon distances), arranged for post-race snacks, and set up some awesome swag.    Given that it’s July in Texas, we had an early start – 7am.  I elected to run the 10K option.

photo (6)

(my flat mama for the race)

Because it was an abnormally cool July morning (around 70 at go time), I started off really fast – under 9 minute/mile pace for the first half mile, then started to slow down.  But, 5 of my 6 miles were (well) under 11 minute/mile pace, with just mile 3 as an anomoly.  The first half of the course was rough – uphill and into a strong headwind, which might explain that mile 3 split.  I finished my first-ever 10K in 1:03.47.  My Garmin measured the course a bit short, but some of the other girls’ Garmins measured it a bit long, so I’m choosing to believe it was exactly 6.2 miles.  😉

photo (4)

(Garmin stats)

photo (8)

(post-race goodies, including the medal)

I got home from the run around 9:30am, hopped in the shower, fed the baby, and then loaded up the car.  We were headed to San Antonio for a quick weekend trip with my parents to celebrate their anniversary (7/21 – 44 years!) and our anniversary (7/26 – 5 years!).  As a result, I haven’t gotten much running done in the past week, although I’ve walked A LOT – the San Antonio Zoo and Sea World are both pretty big places!  We got home Tuesday night, then yesterday went to the Dallas Arboretum to use some tickets we bought on Groupon before they expired.  According to an app on my husband’s phone, we walked almost 3 miles yesterday!

Tomorrow, I have to try to find my groove.  Just 2 weeks until the end of summer vacation, and I need to get the routine down before I go back to work.

How do you balance work & your running/exercise routine? 

Categories: Race Reviews, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

