Why I Run

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, as the temps in Texas soar over 100 degrees each afternoon (and are still near 80 at 6am, ugh).  Back in high school, I started running distance because 1) no one else wanted to, which meant I would be on the varsity track team as a freshman, and 2) running was really the only sport I was good at.  I played other sports, I was even decent at some of them, but running I could do well.

(I was going to put my HS track picture here, but I can’t find it in the house…. maybe I’ll add it later, lol!)

By my senior year, though, the pressure to perform at a certain level got to be too much, and running was no longer fun for me.  I basically quit running altogether for a long time.  I’d occasionally run a little bit when I felt like my weight was getting to be too high, since it’s always been a good weight-loss activity for me, but mostly I just didn’t run because I wasn’t enjoying it.

After my son was born in January 2011, I started C25K with some friends, but soon found myself “too busy” to keep up with the runs.  I still managed to train for, and complete, a half marathon in February 2012 while pregnant with my daughter, but I still wasn’t really enjoying running.  I said I’d keep running throughout my pregnancy, but the reality is that it still wasn’t fun, so I just didn’t bother.

After my daughter was born, I was at the highest weight I’d ever been at in my adult life.  I wasn’t healthy, and I wasn’t happy.

54399_480132608685923_1670256376_o

(family picture, Oct. 2012, about 1 week after baby girl was born)
Photo Credit: Photography By Herrington

On January 1, I dedicated myself to getting healthy again.   I was back to my pre-pregnancy weight, but still a long way from a healthy weight.

before

(sorry for the missing heads, I don’t know what happened when we took these pictures)

I started tracking every.single.calorie I ate in MyFitnessPal (MFP), and I started running again.  Slow, short distances at first, then gradually longer, but running.  And something happened.  I started to enjoy running again.  By myself, it was 20-30 minutes of alone time that I desperately needed after having 2 kids in less than 2 years, time to think, time to decompress.  With my MRTT sole sisters, it was time to socialize, to encourage each other, to challenge myself so I didn’t get left behind.

I registered for another half marathon, and while I didn’t really give myself time to train properly, I blasted my PR.  Even with the hills and heat.

And I registered for more races.

And I’m still running.

For the exercise.

For the camaraderie.

For the alone time when I need it most.

For the support and encouragement.

For the bling.

photo (2)

(Yeah, yeah, i still haven’t made my medal display, so sue me)

For the progress I’m seeing.

after

But mostly, because it’s fun again.

I guess that means it’s time to fill out my fall race calendar.

Why do you run?  What does your fall calendar look like?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Why I Run

  1. I too, started running right after #2 was born. That was 11 months ago and I haven’t looked back. I completed my first HM in March, 6 months after I started. I have 3 on the calendar for this fall. Running is my “me” time! Great read!

  2. The comraderie is huge, isn’t it? Running is so fascinating, on the one hand it is so individual, and yet on the other hand it has become so much more fun for me when I started training with a group. Way to do, you’ve done a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

