The Countdown is On!

In just over a week, I’ll be running the craziest races of my life.  It’s not so much that the races themselves are crazy, but rather the time frame between them.  See, I’m running the New Years Double – a half marathon on New Years Eve, and another half marathon on New Years Day.  Yikes.

Initially, I wasn’t going to do either of the races… I had my heart set on running the Santa Hustle in Galveston this past Saturday.  For  a variety of reasons, that didn’t happen.  My friend Lisa, who blogs over at Whisky Baker, is flying to Dallas from CANADA!!! to run this race (er, these races), and asked me if I’d be willing to go to packet pickup and get her race bibs & goodies since she wouldn’t be in town for  it.  I agreed.  Then decided that if I was going to go to packet pickup anyway, I should register for one day of the event.

And then I saw the bling.

NYDmedals

(photo blatantly stolen from the race FB page here)

The two daily medals become the gears on the large “challenge plate” which measures 6″ or more!

So I registered for both days.  I couldn’t pass up the bling.

For the most part, I’ve kind of followed the training plan.  I’ve been pretty good about doing back-to-back long runs on the weekends.  I have not been good about getting in my weekday runs.  But I’m never good about weekday runs during the school year.  As a result, I feel like I’m pretty undertrained.  Thankfully the course limit is 6 hours or more (there’s also a marathon option) so I shouldn’t have any issues finishing on New Years Day, even if I walk some.  Or a lot.

If I complete both races, which I’m sure I will, I’ll qualify for Half Fanatics, too.   At level 4 (Jupiter).  There’s probably no way I’ll ever qualify for Half Fanatics any other way, and certainly not at this level.  So there’s that, too.

How do you handle it when you’re undertrained for a race? What’s the shortest time frame you’ve ever had between two races?  Are you a Half Fanatic or Marathon Maniac?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Countdown is On!

  1. That race sounds like so much fun! Have a blast and a wonderful new year 🙂
    Oh, and I’m always undertrained for races lately. Just slow it down a bit and keep your mind strong!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

