2013 Year in Review

2013 Year in Review

2013YIR

2013 was the year I started running again.  I ran in high school, and on-and-off from college until 2011 when I signed up for my first half.  I ran that half, slowly, while pregnant, and then didn’t run again until December 2012 – one very, very slow 2.5 mile run to look at Christmas lights.

In January 2013, I ran my first official 5K – the MRTT Winter Runnerland Virtual.  You don’t see it in my Nike+ Yearly Summary (above) because I didn’t carry the phone with me while I ran it.  Zero training, zero preparation, and only 2.5 miles logged in the previous 11.5 months.  It was ugly, with an official time of 40:59.  Yuck.

photo 3

(race medal for my first 5K)

I ran a little bit in February and March (Nike+ tells me I did 3 runs of 1.2 miles apiece in Feb and a single 1.8 mile run in March), but I wasn’t really serious about it.

In April 2013, I registered for the Disney Tower of Terror 10-Miler, held in October.  I knew that I’d need to run some other races between April & October to keep myself motivated to train, so I registered for the Patriot Half Marathon for May and the Too Hot to Handle 15K for July, and then I really started running again.

In April, I managed to get my longest run in over a year (5 miles) and in May I did training runs up to 9 miles before running the Patriot Half, where I set a new PR by 28 minutes in spite of the terrible hills and a LOT of walking from miles 9-12.5.  I also bought myself a Garmin Forerunner 210 as a Mother’s Day gift and started using it (in addition to Nike+) to track my runs.

941289_10151399452767064_1883896779_n

(bad post-race selfie)

In June, the Texas heat and quite a bit of time out of town derailed my running, and I only managed one training run of just over 2 miles.  I kicked back into gear in July though, running several training runs and completing the Too Hot to Handle 15K without walking at all (other than at water stops) – the longest distance I’d ever run without stopping!

1014445_10151549631031379_96315670_n photo (1)

(with my MRTT sole sisters before the race, the finisher bling post race)

I also completed my first-ever official 10K, the MRTT Running Mad Summer Virtual.

photo (5) photo (6)

(finisher cupcake & medal, my “flat mama” for the race

In August, I averaged 2 runs a week until the school year started and I was back at work… and then only managed one run for the rest of the month.  My training was officially derailed for the Tower of Terror 10-Miler at that point, but I also registered for another half, the McKinney Mini Half in early November.

I did OK in my training in September, since some of my sole sisters were also training for the McKinney Mini, and I got in two solid long runs going in to the Tower of Terror race.  October went pretty well – my time was not great at Tower of Terror, much slower than I would have liked, but it was a nighttime race & Florida is humid.

photo (12)

(one of the coolest medals ever – the elevator moves!)

 I also did my longest-ever training run in October, just over 12 miles, with my runner girl Shelly, AND PR’ed in a 5K with a time of just over 28 minutes (and won an age group medal!!!).

photo 4 photo 5

(age group award, baby!)

November saw a lot of great things.  I PR’ed again at the McKinney Mini, by 16 minutes this time, and then ran another 5K PR with a time of just under 28 minutes.  I also turned 35 and moved up an age group at races, LOL.

photo 2 photo 4

In December, I almost got derailed again, thanks to an ice storm that took a solid 4 days out of my training (and led to the cancellation of the Dallas Marathon, which I was supposed to run as a relay team).  But I accomplished something I didn’t think I could do – I completed a long run BY MYSELF.  Ten glorious miles, alone with my thoughts and my music.

I wrapped up 2013 (and started 2014) by running the New Years Double Half Marathons.  I PR’ed AGAIN on New Year’s Eve with a  time of 2:11:03 (if you’re keeping count, that’s a new PR in every half I ran for 2013) by about 9 minutes, then got up this morning and ran the course again.  No PR today, but it was my 3rd fastest overall half marathon time at 2:31:13, and a great start to a new year with new running goals to be accomplished.  This post is long enough, so I’ll put my goals for the new year in the next one.

photo 2 photo 1 photo 1

(New Years Double: 12/31 run, the BLING!, and 1/1 run)

I finished 2013 with somewhere between 290-300 total miles logged, too, not bad for someone who really only started running in April.

Happy New Year!  What did you accomplish in 2013?

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “2013 Year in Review

  1. Awesome recap!! Can I get you to write mine??? I have 38 races to report on. 😛

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

