2014 Goals

2014 is the first year since high school that I’m really starting the year as a runner.  So it seemed fitting to set some running-related goals for the year.

2014 Goals Check

1. Run 500 miles: This shouldn’t be too hard, given that I logged nearly 300 from April-December 2013.

2. Run a sub-2:00 half: This is my ultimate goal time. If I can get there, then I’d be comfortable starting the training for a full marathon.  It’s only 12 minutes faster than my current PR, so I think it’s doable.

3. STICK TO MY TRAINING PLAN FOR EVERY RACE! This is going to be the hardest one for me, I think.  I have a really hard time getting out to run on weekdays after work, I just don’t like to take the time away from my kids while they’re awake and I really don’t like to run alone in the dark.  But this is key for achieving goal #2 and goal #4, so I have to do it.

4. Run a sub-1:00 10K.  This shouldn’t be too hard.  At the 10K mark of the NYE half, I was right at 1 hour, and I was pacing myself for a half.  When I race a 10K, I should be able to get under that 1 hour mark fairly easily.  (I like having one goal that seems “easy” so I can see some success early in the year 🙂 )

5. Cross-train and/or core work at least 2x per week.  Again, this is going to be tough for me, but I think it’s also critical for the sub-2 half.  I need to build strength to protect from injuries and to improve speed.

What are your goals for 2o14?

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “2014 Goals

  1. Jessica T

    Run a sub 2 hour half, run 500 miles and improve my 5k time.

  2. I’m leaving the half to you this year 🙂 But hope to get a 55 minute 10k and under 25 for the 5k!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

