Planning for 2014

(sorry for the lack of pictures in this update, I didn’t feel right about stealing copyrighted images off the race websites)

Why must races be so expensive?  It makes it hard for me to plan out my 2014 race calendar.  :p

Right now, the only races I’m registered for are our MRTT Winter Virtual – Start Your Engines 10K on Feb. 15th and the Cowtown 10K & Half Marathon on Feb. 22 & 23.

But there’s a whole host of events I *want* to run.

The Polar Dash in January.
The Hot Chocolate 15K in February (which I won’t run, because it would mean racing 3 weekends in a row, and that’s too much)
The Dallas Rock & Roll Half in March.
The Fairview Half in April.
The Divas Half Marathon in April (in Galveston, so probably a no).
The Disney Expedition Everest Challenge in May.
The Too Hot to Handle 15K in July.
The Niagara Falls International Marathon in October (what a great option for a full!).
The Disney Food & Wine Half Marathon in November.
The Shiner Half Marathon in November.
The Dallas Marathon (or half marathon or marathon relay, more likely) in December.
The Santa Hustle Half Marathon in December (also in Galveston).

And those are just the ones I can think of off the top of my head!

To run all of them would cost me over $800 in race entry fees ALONE!  And there are travel expenses to be incurred for several of them, too.  All told, I’d probably spend $2000+ easily to run just the races on this list (not including Disney park tickets for the races at Disney!).  That’s just way too much money for one year of racing!  😉

Most likely, I’ll run the Fairview Half in April – it’s hosted by the same people who put on the New Year’s Double, which was a great experience.  I’ll definitely do the Shiner Half in November as long as falls on the same weekend it was held this year (the weekend before Thanksgiving) because that’s a good weekend for me to travel.  I’d like to do something at the Dallas Marathon, since my relay got iced out (and I’ll get a 2013 & 2014 medal if I complete one of the races there).  And I really, really want to do the Santa Hustle because it looks like so much fun!

But, if I decide to do a full marathon, the Niagara International Marathon looks like an awesome course and awesome experience.  Where else can you start a race in one country and finish in another?!?!

Ugh.  I need to figure this out so I can start budgeting for my race expenses.

What races are you running this year?  How do you decide how many races to run & which ones?  Do you overthink this as much as I do? 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

