Countdown to Cowtown

photo

The countdown is on!  Less than two weeks until my next races – the Cowtown 10K and half marathon!

I’ve done a little bit better at sticking to my training plan this time around – I’ve managed to get in at least one weekday run each week, and of course I’ve done my weekend long runs.  My pace has even increased on my long runs, probably because I’ve been running with faster people.  I’ve managed to average a sub-10 pace on nearly all of them.

photo (1)

(my 12 mile long run, 7 first and then 5 more right afterwards, with different training buddies)

So, there’s been definite improvement, but I’m still not training “right”.  It’s just so hard to run alone, in the dark, after work.  And even harder to find consistent training partners for the evenings – people just have too much going on!  But on Sunday, I did my long run EARLY with a group, and while it was tough to get out of bed, I felt awesome while I was running and afterwards.  So I think I’m going to start going two runs a week in the mornings before work.

Hopefully that will get me on track with a consistent training plan.  I need to figure something out that works, because I just registered for my first FULL marathon!  Training officially starts next week, and the race is June 21.

RnRSeattle

I’m terrified and excited, all at the same time!

What’s the longest distance you’ve ever raced?  What’s your favorite distance?  If you’ve done a marathon, what’s the best advice you can offer to a new marathoner?

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Countdown to Cowtown

  1. I’m so excited for Cowtown race weekend! And congrats on signing up for your first full. I won’t lie, it’s hard and you have to stick to your training plan. But it’s been fun and I can’t wait to cross that finish line!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

