And training starts again….NOW!

I haven’t been very motivated to do much of anything since running the marathon in Seattle.  I’m blaming the heat of the Texas summer.    The lack of motivation is rough, because I have a LOT of races on the schedule between now and the middle of January.  Races I’m actually registered for, some of which I have already booked travel for too.  So it’s time to get motivated again.

This morning, Pam, the founder of Moms RUN This Town, posted a link to a 12-week fitness challenge hosted by He & She Eat Clean and She Sweats.  It’s 12 weeks of strength training to go with the cardio I’ll already be doing as I train for the upcoming races.  So I signed up.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to update at least once a week during the next 12 weeks (although I’m going to aim for more often that that, but anyone who regularly reads my blog knows I’m bad about regular updates, haha).

The challenge requires beginning and ending photos.  And as much I don’t want to put half-naked pics of myself online, I think the accountability will be good for me… and hopefully the progress pics will be motivating for others, too!

So here we go.

fitnesschallengeBEFORE

Week 1 starts tomorrow.  Here’s the plan (not the details, just an overview)
Tuesday – Challenge start (timed mile, core work) + speedwork at track
Wednesday – Arm workout + 3 mile run
Thursday – Leg workout + 3 mile run
Friday – rest day
Saturday – Chest & Back workout + hill work
Sunday – Long run + core work
Monday – rest day
I modified the order a tiny bit so that it fits with my race training plans as well.  Hopefully that will work.

Wish me luck! Are you participating in the challenge?  What do you do for strength training?  How do you motivate yourself to run when it’s a million degrees outside?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

