Playing Catch-Up…

Given that it’s been 6 months since I’ve updated, I’m sure you can imagine that I’m WAY behind on things like race recaps and training updates.  Life got in the way for a while, but I’m trying to get caught up and then STAY caught up for 2015 – it’s part of my “resolution” for the new year.

So, let’s get started.

DRC Independence 10K

After Rock ‘n Roll Seattle, my last race update, I needed to squeeze in a 10K or longer to get a good proof of time for some Disney races.  I registered at the last minute for the Dallas Running Club’s Independence Day 10K on July 5.  I needed to guarantee good corral placement for the Disney Avengers half, since I was flying to Vegas right after the run to run Rock n Roll Vegas as well.  In my head, that meant I needed to run a sub-54 minute 10K which would be a sub-2 hour half proof of time and get me in the first start corral.  On race morning, I hadn’t run a single step since getting home from Seattle, so I felt fresh, although a bit worried about my knee.  I had several running buddies there, so we chatted before the race.  I went out strong, and managed to maintain a really good pace through the 5K turn-around point.  I felt myself starting to slow down, so I used a GU (something I never do in a 10K) for the energy burst.  It helped, and I ended up finishing in 53:43, which was a PR of about 5 minutes since my last 10K race.  It was good enough for an age group award, too!

10424331_671821682895410_3239938745519322710_n

I looked back at previous 10K results, and discovered that I’d improved my 10K time by a full 10 minutes in a single year!  It was awesome to see the progress I’d made.

Plano Balloon Festival Half Marathon

I continued to struggle to get runs in through the summer months, and although I had my eyes set on Rock n Roll San Jose as a PR run, getting in long runs was tricky at best.  At the last minute, about 2 days before the race, I decided to run the Plano Balloon Festival Half Marathon as a long training run – my longest run since Seattle.

10649780_708977925846452_5468951918036466945_n

This race is at the end of September, which is usually still pretty warm in Texas, and this year was no different.  It was much warmer than I’d like to race in – I want to say it was in the upper 70s at race start time, and near 90 by the time I finished.  I ran the first half of the race with my friend Alyssa, but got separated from her around the mile 6 or 7 water stop.  It was a gorgeous run, you could see the hot air balloons when they took off from the staging field.

2014-09-21 07.17.44 2014-09-21 07.56.48

The course was beautiful, but fairly difficult in the heat.  I was pretty happy to turn in a time of 2:18.  And the medal is awesome.

2014-09-21 11.04.51

The plan had been to walk around at the balloon festival when I finished the race, but J & the kids had already done that while I was running, and the first thing mini-me said to me when I reunited with them was “Mommy done running? Good, let’s go home now.”  Then she screamed the whole way to the car, where she promptly fell asleep.

Up next: Rock n Roll San Jose, and my first experience as a pace group leader at the Showdown Half Marathon!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Primal Plates

A journey to a healthier life by following a primal lifestyle correctly.

Run Away With Jr's Blog

Join me in my Quest to run...away!

My Bright Pink Runners

Running through life, one step at a time

runningpfuhl

I'm a Runner and most days I run for my life!

How My World Runs

My adventures in life and running!

Rockwall, TX Chapter - Moms RUN This Town

A Free Running Club for Moms

